Incorporated in 1991, the
Adams County Community Foundation

is the community’s resource for the donor connection

for charitable giving.


In the late 1980s, several Adams County community leaders convened to develop the vision of a community foundation to serve the residents of our community.  With the inspiration of the Portland, Jay County Foundation and the financial, administrative, and legal boost from Lilly Endowment Foundation, the dream of the Adams County Community Foundation was formed.


In 1991, this dream became a reality with the incorporation of the Adams County Community Foundation (ACCF). 

These leaders saw an opportunity to develop a community foundation to provide the connection of generous donors to community service.  Tax-deductible advantages are extended to the donors while financial benefits are extended to our community.  Through these donations, scholarships are awarded to students and grants are awarded to nonprofit organizations that provide services to Adams County residents. 

From the struggling beginnings of $10,000 to 2019 endowments exceeding $21 million, the Adams County Community Foundation’s success has been a result of the generosity of people like you.

Our personalized services have helped individuals, families, and businesses create 200+ permanent endowments from gifts and bequests.  These unique funds are as varied as the donors who created them.  The funds range in value from $3,000 to millions of dollars and support a variety of Adams County needs and services.

The ACCF Board of Directors determines policy, endowment development, and provides oversight of the Foundation’s operations and governance.  The ACCF serves the entire county by assisting donors and meeting community needs.

The Adams County Community Foundation and this community are grateful for the insightful vision of these leaders:

Original ACCF Board of Directors:

Gayle Armes, Max Beer, Dean Butler, James Briggs, Jr., Christopher Harvey, Larry Isch, Dick Johnson, Terry Long, James Luginbill, Mark Merkel, Warren Nidlinger


Since 1991, along with several past Directors:

Barbara Baker, Phil Barger, David Collier, Steve Gagle, Bill Henley, Doyle Lehman, Fred Lehman, Matt Lehman, James Long, Doug Milligan, Adam Miller, Bette Miller, Nancy Moller, Marilyn Muselman, Jim Price, Dr. Noval Rich, Sylvia Scheumann, Karen Saalfied, Delbert Sprunger, Roger Weadock, Sue Zurcher.



Adams County Community Foundation, 102 N. 2nd Street, Decatur, In 46733 / ph: 260.724-3939

www.AdamsCountyFoundation.org   /  email:  accf@adamscountyfoundation.org